Back to Top

A night at the 61st Britannia Filmfare Awards 2016!

An excellent start to the New Years with the 61st Britannia Filmfare awards, held in Mumbai on 15th January 2016. The night saw all the big names of the industry and honoured the best performances of the year. This year has been a splendid year of the Hindi film industry which has seen umpteen number of films on a variety of issues. From films like "Margarita With A Straw" to "Angry Indian Goddesses", the industry has progressed and given us the best. 

The year, in fact, got a great closure with Sanjay Leela Bhansali's "Bajirao Mastani". With great actors like Deepika Padukone, Ranveer Singh and Priyanka Chopra, SLB took the big screen by storm.

Best Actor: Ranveer Singh for 'Bajirao Mastani'
Best Actress: Deepika Padukone for 'Piku'
Best Film: 'Bajirao Mastani'
Best Director: Sanjay Leela Bhansali for 'Bajirao Mastani'

Below is the list of the other awards presented:

RD Burman Award: Armaan Mallik
Lifetime Achievement: Moushumi Chatterjee
Best Debut Director: Neeraj Ghaywan for 'Massan'
Best Debutant (Male): Sooraj Pancholi for 'Hero'
Best Debutant (Female): Bhumi Pednekar for 'Dum Laga Ke Haisha'
Critics Award for Best Film: Piku
Critics Award for Best Actor (Male): Amitabh Bachchan for 'Piku'
Best Actor Female Critics Choice (Female): Kangana Ranaut for 'Tanu Weds Manu Returns'
Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male): Anil Kapoor for 'Dil Dhadakne Do'
Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female): Priyanka Chopra for 'Bajirao Mastani'
Best Story: V Vijayendra Prasad for 'Bajrangi Bhaijaan'
Best Music: ‚ÄčAnkit Tiwari, Meet Bros. Anjjan and Amaal Mallik for 'Roy'
Best Lyrics: Irshad Kamil - 'Agar tum saath ho' (Tamasha)
Best Playback Singer (Male) - Arijit Singh for 'Sooraj dooba' (Roy)
Best Playback Singer (Female) - Shreya Ghoshal for 'Deewani mastani' (Bajirao Mastani)
Best VFX: Prana Studios for 'Bombay Velvet'
Best Dialogue: Himanshu Sharma for 'Tanu Weds Manu Returns'

Best Action: Sham Kaushal for 'Bajirao Mastani'
Best Cinematography: Manu Anand for 'Dum Laga Ke Haisha'
Best Choreography: Pt Birju Maharaj for 'Mohe rang de laal' from 'Bajirao Mastani'

Best Editing: A Sreekar Prasad for 'Talvar'