Back to Top

List of UAE public holidays for 2017

Dubai: The Abu Dhabi government has just released the list of public holidays in the UAE for 2017.  

According to the list, the total duration of holidays for government offices this year will be at least two weeks, with special dates falling almost every month.

The list serves as the official reference to determine special occasions in the Islamic calendar, such as the start of Ramadan or Haj, and other dates designated for celebrating important events..

“The following list shows the public holidays in the UAE for the year 2017. The official reference to determine Islamic occasions, such as the beginning of Ramadan or Haj, is the Hijri calendar. It is based on the phases of the moon. Hence, the exact dates of Islamic events vary from one Gregorian year to another as they depend on the local sightings of the moon,” the announcement stated.

During the holidays, Federal ministries, public departments and institutions will be closed. The listed public holidays for 2017 include November 30, designated as Martyr’s Day and December 2, which marks the founding of the union of the UAE.

Public Holidays in 2017


Gregorian Year 2017

Hijri Year 1438

Holiday Duration

New Year

Jan 1, 2017



Israa & Miaraj Night*

April 24, 2017

27 Rajab


Ramadan expected to begin*

May 27, 2017

1 Ramadan


Eid Al Fitr*

June 25, 2017

1 Shawwal


Hajj season*

August 23, 2017

1 Dhu Al-Hijjah


Arafat Day*

August 31, 2017

9 Dhu Al-Hijjah


Eid Al Adha*

September 1, 2017

10 Dhu Al-Hijjah


Hijri New Year's Day*

September 22, 2017

1 Muharram 1439


Martyr's Day

November 30, 2017



Prophet Mohammed’s Birthday*

November 30, 2017

12 Rabi' Al-Awwal


UAE National Day

December 2, 2017



*Islamic holiday exact dates are subject to moon sighting and may differ from date given.