Back to Top

CSK, RR to return to IPL in 2018


The Board Of Control For Cricket In India (BCCI) on Sunday decided that it will not terminate spot-fixing-hit teams Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals from Indian Premier League (IPL).

Both the teams will make a return to the league after the two-year suspension in 2018. In the coming IPL season, the BCCI will include two new teams in place of CSK and RR.

With this decision, the IPL will be a 10-team tournament from 2018.

The fate of the two suspended IPL franchises were decided in the BCCI's all-powerful Working Committee that met in Mumbai. It was chaired by the newly-appointed BCCI president Shashank Manohar.


The two franchises were suspended in the wake of Justice R.M. Lodha committee's report on the 2013 IPL spot-fixing scandal.

The IPL Working Group had suggested fresh bidding for two new teams to make it an eight-team IPL which is a must from the perspective of broadcasters and sponsors.

In the meeting, it was also confirmed soft drink giant Pepsi will no longer be the title sponsors of IPL. Telecommunications company Vivo is the new title sponsor.

The BCCI Annual General Meeting will take place on November 9 in Mumbai.