Back to Top

Pakistan Super League T20 to be hosted in UAE

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) which will be staged in the UAE with a total of 24 games to be played in Dubai & Sharjah.

Kevin Pietersen, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Luke Wright, Shakib al Hassan, Lasith Malinga, Sunil Narine, and Angelo Mathews are some of the big names who have consented to play in the new T20 extravaganza which will be held from February 4 to February 24 in the Emirates.

PCB Chief Najam Sethi believed the PSL would be the second biggest T20 competition after the glitzy IPL offering up to $1 million in prize money. Each franchise will be able to draft players and coaches for the team within a budget of $1 million. 

The teams will comprise the top T20 players from the world with the latest tally of foreign player signing consents standing at an impressive 132, according to a PCB release. The players will be selected through a draft process in December and each of the five teams participating in the event would have to include four foreign and two local budding players in the squad. 

Sethi revealed that 20 eligible parties had expressed interest to buy the five franchises while every franchise would hire former Pakistani players as consultants.