Back to Top

UAE Ex-Skipper Khurram Khan wins ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year

Steve Smith named ICC Cricketer of the Year

Former UAE captain Khurram Khan has been named as the ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year after he finished as the leading run-scorer with 425 runs in nine one-day matches. 

This award serves to recognise and reward the efforts in all international matches of the outstanding cricketers from the teams outside the 10 Test nations.

“I feel honoured to be named as the ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year. To be the first UAE cricketer to win this award makes it even more special," said Khurram, 44, who played a key role in ensuring UAE participation in the World Cup for the first time since 1996.

"This award is for all the UAE players I played with as well as for the Emirates Cricket Board, which gave me the opportunity to fulfill my childhood dream of playing in an ICC Cricket World Cup,” he said.

Australia captain Steve Smith was named ICC Cricketer of the Year for 2015. The Australian also scooped the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award.

South Africa batsman AB de Villiers was rated the best player in the one-day game, winning the award for the second successive year.

His South African team mate Faf du Plessis won the award for best Twenty20 performance of 2015 for his 56-ball innings of 119 against West Indies in January, the third highest score of all time in T20 internationals.

Australian paceman Josh Hazlewood was named best emerging player.

The Spirit of Cricket Award went to New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum, who made a virtue of his team's sportsmanship as he led them to the final of the World Cup.

McCullum said on Tuesday that he would be retiring from international cricket after the two-test series against Australia in New Zealand in February.

Australia captain Meg Lanning was the women's One Day International Cricketer of the Year.

While West Indies skipper Stafanie Taylor won the women's Twenty20 award.

No Indian or Pakistan player in the list!! Are you surprised with the outcome of the results??