Back to Top

Australia – The Champions of ICC World Cup 2015

Playing their first finals New Zealand, opted to bat first after winning the toss. This decision of batting first might not have yielded the desired results as Starc bowled an in-swinging yorker that clattered into the base of off stump and McCullum left his side at 1 for 1.

Martin Guptill and Kane Williamson were also muted by impeccable pace bowling from Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Johnson later on. Elliott was the only New Zealand batsman to appear comfortable at the crease while Taylor plodded at the other end. Kiwis kept losing wickets and couldn’t recover from the early loss of the skipper and were all out for 183.

Australia in reply had early nerves, particularly when Aaron Finch fell in the second over, but Michael Clarke and Steven Smith stroked fluent half-centuries to run the target down inside 34 overs. Clarke, the departing captain, had a standing ovation when he left the field after his sparkling 74 from 72. Smith, his most likely successor, stayed at the crease to hit the last ball of the World Cup through deep square leg for four

Australia's previous titles came in 1987, 1999, 2003 and 2007 with coach Darren Lehmann, a two-time World Cup winner as a player, celebrating another success off the field.


Picture Gallery:


1. Captains at the toss.


2. Australian Team at the National Anthem.


3. New Zealand Team at the National Anthem.


4. Mitchell Starc races away after bowling Brendon McCullum.


5. The Australians open up communication lines with Ross Taylor and Grant Elliott.


6. Grant Elliott swats one away.


7. Mitchell Johnson is pumped up after getting Kane Williamson caught and bowled.


8. Brad Haddin was in a chatty mood at the final.


9. It's joy unbridled for Australia after Brendon McCullum's duck.


10. James Faulkner is pumped up after getting Ross Taylor.


11. Australia give Grant Elliott a sendoff.


12. The full packed MCG.


13. Michael Clarke got to 50 off 56 balls while he played his last ODI innings.


14. The moment: Steven Smith and Shane Watson take off after the winning runs.


15. Members of the Australia side run on to the field after their World Cup victory.


16. Dejected Grant Elliott and Tim Southee.


17. Brendon McCullum appears downcast at the presentation.


18. Daniel Vettori walks past the World Cup trophy.


19. Mitchell Starc receives the Man-of-the-Series award from Sachin Tendulkar.


20. Mitchell Starc signs off after winning the Player of the Tournament award.


21. A jubilant Australia team after lifting the World Cup.